Michigan’s Marijuana Regulatory Agency (MRA) has announced it will commence accepting adult-use cannabis license applications starting November 1, and firms are preparing to get their piece of what’s projected to be a $1.four billion market place. But prior to the state authorizes you to sell recreational cannabis, you will have to effectively navigate the licensing course of action and make sure your operation is compliant with Michigan’s marijuana retail laws.
Beneath, we’re answering 5 frequent FAQs connected to launching an adult-use marijuana retail shop in Michigan.
Michigan Recreational Cannabis Retail FAQ
1. Who can apply for an adult-use marijuana retail license?
Below Michigan law, the state can only accept adult-use marijuana retailer license applications from persons at present licensed as a healthcare marijuana operator. This restriction will stay in spot for 24 months soon after the MRA starts getting applications for recreational cannabis establishments.
two. What is the course of action to get licensed?
The MRA is using a two-step licensing course of action for adult-use marijuana operators. The initial step, pre-qualification, contains submission of all application supplies, a background verify of the principal applicant and all supplemental applicants, and payment of the application charge.
For the duration of the second step, the MRA will critique the proposed retail marijuana establishment, like business enterprise specifications, proof of monetary duty, municipality data, and common employee data. The physical establishment should pass an MRA inspection inside 60 days of submitting the application.
three. How a lot does it expense to get licensed?
A non-refundable application charge of $six,000 should be paid throughout the pre-qualification phase of the application course of action. If authorized for an adult-use marijuana retail license, the initial licensure charge is $25,000.
There could be extra charges linked with recreational retail cannabis business enterprise licensing at the nearby level verify with your nearby municipality to obtain out extra.
four. How a lot recreational cannabis can you sell?
Michigan law states that retailers are prohibited from creating a sale or transferring marijuana to an adult aged 21 or older in a single transaction that exceeds two.five ounces, with no extra than 15 grams in the kind of cannabis concentrate.
Obtain limits can very easily be tracked and enforced with the ideal technologies. Cova’s cannabis retail POS comes equipped with automated acquire limit alerts that avert your budtenders from overselling — and shield you from a potentially expensive compliance infraction.
five. How can a cannabis-precise POS technique support my adult-use retail operation?
In addition to assisting you stay compliant with constructed-in functions like age-verification ID scanners, acquire limit alerts, and programmable hours of operation, a point of sale made particularly for cannabis retail can also support you streamline your operations, make memorable buyer experiences, and superior handle your inventory.
When buying for a cannabis POS, you will want to make sure that it has the capability to completely integrate with Metrc. This will save you even extra time and labor by automating the course of action and eliminating the require for manual compliance reporting. You will also want to verify for integration capability with top third-celebration cannabis menu web sites like Leafly and Weedmaps.
See Cova In Action with a Reside Demo
Prepared to see precisely how Cova can support you maximize your healthcare and adult-use marijuana retail firms in Michigan? Get in touch with us nowadays to schedule a absolutely free demo — we’ll show you just how effortless compliant cannabis operations and inventory management can be.